Skip to Main Content


In 2009, the College of Pharmacy (COP) at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science (RFUMS) was established as the fifth college in the health-science university by the RFUMS Board of Trustees.

The College of Pharmacy was founded on the philosophy that pharmacists are integral members of the healthcare team. Student pharmacists are prepared for the evolving landscapes of the profession and healthcare, with an emphasis on clinical and interprofessional practice. COP faculty and students positively impact the health of their community through excellence in clinical practice, residency programs, experiential curricular activities, a commitment to research, and partnerships with industry, academia, and community leaders.

In June 2010, the Illinois Board of Higher Education granted approval to establish the college and award the PharmD degree. In July 2010, COP facilities were created at a Ground-Breaking Ceremony for the Interprofessional Education Center at RFUMS. The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) granted Precandidate status to the college in January 2011, and the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (HLC) extended the university’s accreditation to include the Doctor of Pharmacy degree in May 2011.

The (inaugural) Class of 2015 arrived on campus in August 2011. The path to accreditation continued when the ACPE granted the COP Candidate status in June 2012, and Accredited status in June 2015. In May 2016 the Illinois Board of Higher Education approved the application for a PharmD/PhD program. The ACPE continued Accredited status in June 2017, and will conduct the next scheduled comprehensive review in March 2021.