Skip to Main Content

RFUMS Center for Interprofessional Evidence-Based Practice

An Affiliate Center of the Joanna Briggs Institute

The Joanna Briggs Collaboration originated with the founding of The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) within the University of Adelaide, South Australia in 1996. Rosalind Franklin University (RFU) joined this collaboration in 2016.  Together, our  mission is “to facilitate the synthesis, transfer and implementation of the best available evidence to ensure the feasibility, appropriateness, meaningfulness and effectiveness of health policy and practice.”

As a JBI Affiliated Group, RFU faculty and students are part of an international collaboration with more than 80 entities across the world, working to accelerate the linkage of scientific evidence to policy and practice. The JBI also collaborates with the Cochrane Review, and uses Cochrane's robust systematic review methodology for synthesis of randomized, controlled trials. JBI has significantly expanded the potential for systematic reviews to influence practice, by developing numerous systematic review methodologies for non-experimental quantitative research designs and qualitative research designs. 

What We Do

At RFU, our faculty scholars and health profession students focus on evidence synthesis, transfer, and implementation research using JBI methodologies and software. These research contributions to evidence-based practice enhance the educational content of our curriculum and inform continuing education opportunities offered to our clinical partners. In addition, RFU's fellowship program and strategic alliances with its clinical partners expand the reach of RFU's JBI Affiliate Group’s research activities. Participants in the fellowship program collaborate to facilitate clinical partner goals related to the transfer and implementation of best available evidence. 

RFUMS Center for Interprofessional Evidence-Based Practice
Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
3333 Green Bay Road
North Chicago, IL 60064
847-578-8700, ext. 3678

Sandra Larson, PhD, CRNA, APN, FNAP
Vice President of Partnerships
Associate Professor, Department of Nurse Anesthesia

Assistant Director
Jennifer Greenwood, PhD, CRNA, APRN
Assistant Professor, Department of Nurse Anesthesia

Administrative Staff
Anthony Cunningham, MSEd
Administrative Director, Office of Partnerships 

Core Staff
Lori Anderson, DNP, CRNA, APN
Tamzin Batteson, BSc
James Carlson, PhD, PA-C, CHSE
Frank Hughes, PharmD
Lynn Janas, PhD
Peter Kallio, DNP, CRNA, MSN, APNP
Franklin McShane, DNP, CRNA, APNP
Kristin, Schneider, PhD
Lori Thuente, PhD, RN