Skip to Main Content

Two RFU Researchers Among Illinois Science and Technology Coalition's Fifth Annual "Researchers to Know"

Biomedical researchers Joanna Dabrowska, PhD, PharmD, and Noah Rosenblatt, PhD, were recently recognized in the Illinois Science & Technology Coalition (ISTC)’s annual survey of “Illinois Researchers to Know 2022.”

Dr. Dabrowska, associate professor in RFU’s Center for Neurobiology of Stress Resilience and Psychiatric Disorders, was recently awarded $2.36 million by the National Institutes of Health to study potential anxiety-disorder therapies — a continuation of her previous NIH funding of $2 million in the same field. Dr. Rosenblatt, associate professor in the Center for Lower Extremity Ambulatory Research (CLEAR) and assistant dean of research for the Dr. William M. Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine, was recently awarded $1.2 million in funding by the National Institutes of Health and the Department of Defense, a pair of grants that will investigate barriers to foot health in people with diabetes and mobility in military veterans who wear prosthetic devices.

“Illinois Researchers to Know 2022” features a total of 24 scientists from 10 institutions of research and higher education that, in addition to Rosalind Franklin University, include Illinois State University, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, DePaul University, Illinois Institute of Technology, University of Chicago, Northern Illinois University, Northwestern University, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale and Argonne National Laboratory.

In creating the list, ISTC reached out to university partners across the state to nominate faculty with demonstrated excellence in their work. An emphasis was also placed on researchers who have recently achieved milestones, such as publishing an influential paper, receiving national recognition, or commercializing a new innovation. 

“What follows is a cross-section of noteworthy faculty from all corners of the state — each possessing unique research strengths that illustrate the critical role of Illinois’ university research in the national innovation economy,” the ISTC stated.

Dr. Ronald Kaplan, RFU’s executive vice president for research, noted that RFU has been represented among “Researchers to Know” since the list’s inception.

“We are delighted that Dr. Dabrowska and Dr. Rosenblatt are recognized in this prestigious list of Illinois researchers,” he said.

Posted December 14, 2022
More News Stories

Separate grants totaling $1.2 million from the National Institutes of Health…
RFU researcher Joanna Dabrowska, PhD, PharmD, has been awarded a $2.36…
Last September, people across the United States and the world commemorated…