Skip to Main Content

Warning: Undefined array key "other_url" in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 19

Warning: Undefined array key "route" in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 22

Dr. Stephanie Wu, First Woman Podiatric Physician Elected to Podiatry Hall of Fame

Stephanie Wu, DPM, MSc, FACFAS, dean of Dr. William M. Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine, is the first woman podiatric physician elected to receive the PM Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Podiatric physicians nationwide vote each year to honor a podiatric practitioner through Podiatry Management magazine’s Lifetime Achievement Award and Podiatry Hall of Fame. Dr. Wu will be inducted on July 25 during the Hall of Fame Luncheon held in conjunction with the American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) 2020 Annual Scientific Meeting “The National” in Boston, MA.

The 37th podiatric physician to receive the award, which has also been bestowed on seven Scholl College graduates, Dr. Wu is widely recognized for her work in limb preservation and the treatment of diabetic wounds. She is among a new generation of physician scientists inventing and using cutting-edge technologies, including tissue, bone and blood supply regeneration aided by adult stem cells, and grafts using various tissue grown in the lab. Her work in the academy, the lab and the clinic has helped advance the future of podiatric medicine and improved human health and healing of the lower extremity.

RFU Provost Nancy L. Parsley, DPM, MHPE, immediate past dean of Scholl College, praised Dr. Wu for her many accomplishments and contributions to the profession and offered insight into the person behind the reputation, and beyond the research papers and presentations.

“I consider myself lucky to be able to work with Dr. Wu every day,” Dr. Parsley said. “She is a valued colleague and one of the most genuine and authentic individuals you could ever meet. She is thoughtful, kind, and compassionate and cares deeply about her family and colleagues, her patients, and her students. She leads by example, is a hands-on type of leader, and has great instincts.”

Dr. Wu’s biography and tributes by colleagues, including some of the top podiatric physician leaders in the nation, appear in the March Issue of Podiatry Management Magazine.

Scholl College graduates named to Podiatry Management’s Hall of Fame include: the late Theodore H. Clarke, DPM ’50; the late Irvin O. Kanat, DPM ’56; Orlando A. Mercado, DPM ’61; Lowell S. Weil, Sr., DPM ’64; Warren S. Joseph, DPM ’82; Samuel S. Mendicino, DPM ’83; and U.S. Rep. Brad Wenstrup, DPM ’85. 

Posted March 30, 2020
More News Stories

Separate grants totaling $1.2 million from the National Institutes of Health…
Researchers at RFU’s Center for Lower Extremity Ambulatory Research (CLEAR)…
In her first communication as founding director of the new Michael Reese…